Select regional store:

ITIL® Books

ITIL 4 was launched in February 2019. It remains the leading best-practice framework for ITSM (information technology service management).

What is ITIL?

ITIL is the most widely used approach for IT service management in the world. It provides a practical framework for planning, designing, delivering, supporting and improving IT services. ITIL advocates that IT services must be aligned to the needs of the business and underpin the core business processes. It provides guidance to organisations on how to use IT as a tool to facilitate business change, transformation and growth.

IT Governance ITIL books

IT Governance publishes, sources and distributes the world’s best selection of ITIL and ITSM books.

Our sister company IT Governance Publishing creates innovative ITSM titles that complement the core ITIL books.

These cover everything from passing the ITIL Foundation exam and taking your first steps into an ITIL workplace to IT service metrics, ITIL process management and ISO/IEC 20000 – the International Standard for ITSM.

IT Governance is also an official distributor of all AXELOS© publications (in all formats) as well as publications from a number of other leading service management publishers.

Discover our range of bestselling ITIL books below.

ITIL 4 Foundation was launched in February 2019. The other modules will be released later in 2019.

Book your place on the new ITIL 4 Foundation training course today >>

ITIL® books

ITIL® Foundation, ITIL 4 Edition

The first ITIL® 4 publication from the official publisher of the ITIL manuals, ITIL® Foundation – ITIL 4 Edition, covers the latest evolution of ITIL and the key concepts of the ITIL 4 IT service value system.

ITIL® Foundation – ITIL 4 Edition will:

  • Provide readers with an understanding of the ITIL 4 service management framework and how it has evolved to adopt modern technologies and ways of working;
  • Explain the new holistic end-to-end view of service creation to support candidates studying for the ITIL 4 Foundation exam; and
  • Act as a reference guide that practitioners can use in their work, further studies and professional development.

ITIL® Lifecycle Publication Suite

Available in various formats, the ITIL Lifecycle Publication Suite contains the five core ITIL v3 (2011) books, which are designed to be read together:

ITIL® Service Strategy

Service Strategy contains the majority of the 2011 updates. It gives detailed strategic guidance on how to set and manage the overall strategy for IT in order to deliver IT services that are aligned with business needs.

This book covers:

  • The development of markets
  • Service assets
  • Implementation of strategy through the ITIL Service Lifecycle
  • Financial Management
  • Service Portfolio Management
  • Organisational development
  • Strategic risks

ITIL® Service Design

Service Design gives guidance on the design of IT services that meet the current and future needs of the organisation. 

This book covers:

  • Service design, objectives and elements
  • Service Catalogue Management
  • Selecting the service design model
  • Cost models
  • Benefit/risk analysis
  • Implementing Service Design
  • Measurement and control

ITIL® Service Transition

Service Transition gives guidance on the transition of new or changed service into operation.

This book covers:

  • Managing organisational and cultural change
  • Knowledge Management
  • Service knowledge management system
  • Methods, practices and tools
  • Measurement and control
  • Companion best practices

ITIL® Service Operation

Service Operation gives guidance on the delivery of IT services on a day-to-day basis. It includes guidance on achieving effectiveness and efficiency in the delivery and support of services.

This book covers:

  • Application Management
  • Service Desk
  • IT Operations Management
  • Control processes and function
  • Scalable practices
  • Measurement and control

ITIL® Continual Service Improvement

Continual Service Improvement deals with the evaluation and improvement of services. It gives in-depth guidance on evaluating and improving the quality of services, overall maturity of the ITSM services and their underlying processes.

This book covers:

  • Business and technology drivers for improvement
  • Business, financial and organisational improvements
  • Methods, practices and tools
  • Measurement and control
  • Companion best practices

Want to know more about ITIL?

Please contact us to discuss your ITIL needs using one of the methods below.

This website uses cookies. View our cookie policy