Select regional store:

Guide to the NIST CSF (Cybersecurity Framework)

What is the NIST Cybersecurity Framework? 

The NIST CSF provides guidance for managing cybersecurity risk based on existing standards, guidelines, and practices.

The framework can be used by any organization globally, but it was primarily designed for US critical infrastructure organizations.

What are the five elements of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework? 

The NIST CSF’s five elements are:

  1. Identify: Establish the organization’s baseline security posture and identify risks
  2. Protect: Implement security controls to protect against identified risks
  3. Detect: Develop and implement detection processes to identify cybersecurity incidents
  4. Respond: Establish and implement response plans for identified cybersecurity incidents
  5. Recover: Develop and implement plans to restore systems and data following a cybersecurity event

What are the benefits of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework? 

The NIST CSF provides a common language and a set of tools that organizations can use to manage cybersecurity risk. The framework can be used to identify, assess, and manage cybersecurity risks across an organization. It can also help organizations communicate about cybersecurity risks and share best practices for managing them.

What is the difference between the NIST CSF and ISO 27001? 

The NIST CSF is a set of guidelines that helps organizations manage their cybersecurity risks. ISO 27001 is an international standard that outlines how to develop, implement, and maintain an ISMS (information security management system).

ISO 27001 is a more prescriptive standard, while the CSF is more flexible. The CSF is easy to implement with ISO 27001, as they share several principles, including senior management support, continual improvement, and a risk-based approach.

Find out how the NIST CSF and ISO 27001 can work in conjunction to help your organization achieve its cybersecurity goals

How to implement the NIST Cybersecurity Framework 

There is no one-size-fits-all approach to implementing the NIST CSF. Organizations should tailor their implementation plans to their specific needs and resources.

However, there are some general steps that all organizations should take when implementing the framework:

  1. Assess your organization’s current cybersecurity posture: What are your current cybersecurity capabilities and practices? What gaps exist in your cybersecurity defenses?
  2. Identify which aspects of the NIST CSF are most relevant to your organization: Not all parts of the framework will be equally important for all organizations. Focus on the parts of the framework that will have the biggest impact on your organization’s cybersecurity posture.
  3. Develop a plan for implementing the NIST CSF: This plan should include a timeline, a budget, and the resources needed.
  4. Implement the NIST CSF: This will involve putting the plan into action and making changes to your organization’s cybersecurity practices.
  5. Evaluate the effectiveness of your implementation: As your organization’s cybersecurity needs change over time, so too should your implementation of the framework.

Need implementation guidance?

The NIST CSF can be used to review or improve an existing cybersecurity program or establish an entirely new one.

This pocket guide covers:

  • Advantages of implementing the NIST CSF
  • Detailed explanations of each of the CSF’s components
  • How you can integrate the CSF with other frameworks, including ISO 27001 and ISO 22301

Tailoring the NIST CSF to your organization’s needs can help you manage cybersecurity threats effectively and efficiently.

Shop now

Learn more about the NIST CSF and how it compares to
ISO 27001

Download our green paper to learn more about these two frameworks and how they can help protect your organization.

Download now

Free PDF download: Implementing Cybersecurity – The case for the NIST CSF

Learn about the benefits of implementing the NIST CSF

Download our green paper to learn more about the NIST CSF and how it can help protect your organization.


Download now

This website uses cookies. View our cookie policy