This website uses cookies. View our cookie policy
Select regional store:

Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT)

Developed by ISACA, the CGEIT qualification has been specifically designed for experienced IT governance professionals. CGEIT qualifications are internationally recognized and are consistently listed as one of the most highly sought-after and well-paying IT certifications.

ISACA itself states, “As a CGEIT certified professional, you demonstrate that you are capable of bringing IT governance into an organization—that you grasp the complex subject holistically, and therefore, enhance value to the enterprise.”

CGEIT is divided into six job practice areas, each of which is covered in the CGEIT Review Manual and the exam:

  • IT governance framework
  • Strategic alignment
  • Value delivery
  • Risk management
  • Resource management
  • Performance measurement

Benefits of CGEIT:

  • Globally accepted as the premier IT governance qualification
  • Increased earning potential and career development
  • Enhanced credibility, influence and recognition
  • Demonstration of knowledge and practical experience in the field of enterprise IT governance
  • The organization’s IT and business systems operate with greater efficiency and provider better value

The CGEIT certificate is awarded to candidates who have at least five years of relevant work experience and who pass a rigorous written examination, which is only held three times each year.

CGEIT Exam Preperation

The CGEIT Review Manual

The CGEIT Review Manual

The CGEIT Review Manual is the core text for candidates taking the CGEIT exam. Updated each year, it is also the industry-leading source of information for people who wish to understand the roles of those who implement the governance of IT and have significant management, advisory or assurance responsibilities relating to IT governance.

As well as the CGEIT Review Manual, it is also advised that any candidate taking the CGEIT exam purchases and studies a copy of the Official CISM Review Questions, Answers & Explanations. This manual provides 60 multiple choice practice questions, answers, and explanations for CGEIT candidates.


The CGEIT exams are currently held only three times a year. To sit the exam you must have five years’ relevant work experience and pre-register for the exam directly with ISACA.

Continuing Professional Education

There is a Continuing Professional Education (CPE) policy in respect of qualified CGEIT professionals. The goal of this policy is to ensure that all CGEITs maintain an adequate level of current knowledge and proficiency in the field of information systems audit, control, and security. CGEITs who successfully comply with the "continuing professional education policy will be better trained to assess information systems and technology and provide leadership and value to their organizations. The responsibility for setting the continuing professional education requirements rests with the CGEIT Certification Board, which oversees the continuing professional education process and requirements to ensure their applicability.

Maintenance fees and a minimum of 20 contact hours of CPE are required annually. In addition, a minimum of 120 contact hours are required during a fixed three-year period.

See ISACA's Maintain Your CGEIT for further details.

Speak to an expert

For more information on our CEGIT products and services, speak to one of our experts today.