Select regional store:

Cyber Essentials Certification Process

Simple and proactive security wins

The UK government's Cyber Essentials scheme provides:

  • The five controls you should implement to achieve a baseline of cybersecurity
  • An assurance framework to reassure your clients and help you win more contracts
  • The ability to advertise your cybersecurity credentials on the directory of organizations awarded Cyber Essentials certification.

IT Governance is a CREST-accredited certification body for the Cyber Essentials scheme. With our Cyber Essentials online portal, achieving certification couldn’t be easier. Here’s how it works.

In 2020, the NCSC (National Cyber Security Centre) will implement some changes to the Cyber Essentials scheme to prepare it for the future. The current five Cyber Essentials accreditation bodies will be replaced by one. From 1 April 2020, The IASME Consortium will operate as the sole accreditation body for the scheme.

Cyber Essentials Portal

In support of this change, IT Governance will become an IASME-accredited certification body from April next year. We will continue providing the high level of cost-effective ongoing service our clients expect from us and will ensure the transition to the new arrangements is seamless. In the meantime, and in line with current arrangements supported by the NCSC, our clients will continue to be certified under CREST, and all existing and new certifications will continue to be valid and in line with current requirements.

Cyber Essentials Certification

Cyber Essentials

A self-assessment option that demonstrates you have key controls in place to help protect against a wide variety of the most common cyber attacks. It includes an SAQ (self-assessment questionnaire) and an external vulnerability scan. The certification process has been designed to be lightweight and easy to follow.

Buy now

Cyber Essentials Plus Certification

Cyber Essentials Plus

A self-assessment option that demonstrates you have key controls in place to help protect against a wide variety of the most common cyber attacks. It includes an SAQ (self-assessment questionnaire), an external vulnerability scan, an additional internal scan and an on-site assessment.

Buy now

Three steps to Cyber Essentials certification

1. Complete your SAQ

Log in to our online portal, which provides a secure, user-friendly system to help define the scope of your assessment, to complete your SAQ.

The portal will automatically mark your responses and provide you with an interim result.

Cyber Essentials Certification Portal

2. Schedule your scans

Because we are a CREST-accredited certification body, you’ll get the added benefit of an external vulnerability scan to verify that your controls are operating effectively.

For Cyber Essentials Plus, you’ll need to arrange an additional internal scan and an on-site assessment.

Cyber Essentials Certification Portal

3. Receive your certificate

IT Governance assessors will review your submission and compile a report, which is checked by our quality assessor.

If all activities result in a pass, we'll issue a certificate for your organisation.

If you do not pass your initial assessment, you will have to be reassessed.

Cyber Essentials Certification Certificate

Secure your organization with Cyber Essentials

With IT Governance, you can complete the entire certification process quickly and easily using our online portal for as little as $390.

Get Started

Not ready to be certified?

To find out more about the five essential controls and the activities you should be routinely undertaking to protect your organization, follow the links below.

This website uses cookies. View our cookie policy